Annual Recognitions

The DAISY Foundation partners with several other organizations to offer annual recognition for nurses and nurse-led teams in Ethics, Healthcare Policy, and Patient Safety. Learn more about all these opportunities below.

The DAISY Awards for Nursing Ethics in Practice and Leadership

The DAISY Foundation and the American Nurses Association’s Center for Ethics and Human Rights developed the national DAISY Awards for Nursing Ethics in Practice and Leadership in 2024 to recognize nurses whose leadership, compassion, and clinical practice demonstrate the importance of human values and ethics in nursing. Two awards – one for a clinician and one for a nurse leader- are presented during the National Nursing Ethics Conference. 

Eligibility: Licensed nurses employed by DAISY Partner organizations or schools of nursing, including students and faculty, are eligible.

Criteria: The American Nurses Association’s Code of Ethics for Nurses and The DAISY Foundation’s focus on extraordinary compassionate care are the hallmarks of the criteria for this annual recognition. Award reviewers will be looking for how your nomination describes any or all of the following:

  • Consistently demonstrates professional and ethical standards as defined in the ANA Code of Ethics for Nurses
  • Prioritizes ethical awareness and ethical decision-making to address inequities and uphold ethical norms and values
  • Substantially contributes to a healthy and ethical practice environment through positive interactions, compassionate action, and leadership
  • With courage, promotes initiatives that advance ethical behavior within nursing and/or healthcare
  • Is accountable for professional decisions, actions, and consequences
  • Exemplifies respect for the inherent dignity and humanity of self and others by maintaining personal health, well-being, and integrity
  • Applies evidence (such as research or EBP) to ethical issues to inform decisions, guide priorities, and/or budget allocations
  • Protects human welfare and reduces health disparities of those providing and those receiving health care services

Read about the inaugural recipients here.

To Nominate: Applications will open from August 1st, 2024, to November 3rd, 2024. Please check back for the link. Honorees will be notified in December and awarded at the National Nursing Ethics Conference (location TBD) in April 2025.

Back to Top

HealthImpact DAISY Nurse Leader Award in Policy

There is nothing more compassionate than creating policies to ensure broad access to safe, quality care, to addiction treatment, to palliative and end-of-life care, COVID treatment, and to protecting communities of color, plus more. Preventing domestic violence, increasing inclusion and equity, and creating communities of healing also reflect a society that is compassionate and caring for all.  

Nurses are often at the forefront of creating and driving policies that ensure a compassionate environment for individuals and communities. In 2020, the DAISY Foundation partnered with HealthImpact to create an award to honor nurses whose work advances compassionate care in policy.

Eligibility: Licensed nurses with any degree who have demonstrated work in policy, whether it is in their job description or done externally to the organization.


  • The Nominee may or may not have policy development or oversight as a part of their job description.
  • The Nominee’s policy change must have taken place in the last two years prior to the first day of the application opening for this award.
  • Individual nurses or nurse-led teams are eligible for nomination.
  • Policies that affect local, regional, national, or global populations through legislation, checklists, guidelines, regulations, standards of practice, etc. will be considered. Honorees will be chosen by a panel of reviewers whose expertise is relevant to advancing compassionate care in policy.

Read about past recipients here!

To nominate: Applications are now open! The deadline for submissions is September 2nd, 2024. Please check back for the link. Honorees will be notified in January 2025 and awarded at a national conference (location TBD) in June 2025.

Back to Top

The DAISY Award for Extraordinary Nurses in Patient Safety

In collaboration with the Institute for Healthcare Improvement and sponsored by Baxter (formerly Hillrom), nurses at DAISY Award partner organizations are eligible to be nominated for The DAISY Award for Extraordinary Nurses in Patient Safety.

This annual award raises awareness of the significant contributions by nurses to patient and workforce safety. We encourage you to nominate Nurses and Nurse-led Teams for their commitment to patient and workforce safety in the delivery of compassionate care for patients and families.

Eligibility: Licensed nurses who are employed by DAISY Partner organizations.

Criteria: Two supporting documents from the Chief Nursing Officer and either a Nurse Manager or patient or family member who was cared for by the Nominee describing the impact of your Nominee on patient and/or workforce safety at the unit/department, organization, health system, or broader community level.

Read about past recipients here!

To nominate: Applications will be open from September 1st, 2024- December 1st, 2024. Please check back for the link. Honorees will be notified in February 2025 and awarded at the IHI Congress (location TBD) in May 2025.

Back to Top