Trauma Coordinating Team
May 2017
Trauma Coordinating Team
at Henry Ford Allegiance Health
RNs and more
Trauma Services
Henry Ford Allegiance Health
United States




It is with pleasure to recognize the Trauma Coordinating Team as recipients for The DAISY Team Award.  This team worked tireless hours as they prepared multiple departments within the organization to achieve Level Two Trauma Designation.  Words cannot begin to describe the work these individuals completed in preparation.  This team conducted a gap analysis to determine the areas of vulnerability and worked for several years to provide follow-up and closure to each gap identified.  The team provided numerous health fairs, injury prevention programs to schools and our local community, and collaborated with our local Emergency Medical Services (EMS) to ensure proper pre-hospital care.  The team lead, Madonna Walters, has been instrumental in providing nursing education and certification onsite with the Trauma Nurse Core Certification (TNCC) and Emergency Nurse Pediatric Course (ENPC).  She has coordinated staffs ability to attend Burn Surge Training and also provide training for the inpatient staff with Trauma Care After Resuscitation (TCAR).  The team leads the Emergency Department Trauma Workgroup and co-leads the Trauma Operations Committee in continuous performance improvement.  

This team lives the mission, vision and values of the hospital by ensuring the organization's success in treating and properly caring for trauma patients in our community.  Receiving Level Two designation will allow patients and families to remain here in Jackson for their care.  The success of this program is due to the hours spent by this team providing education, numerous audits, policy writing to support the care provided to the trauma patient, securing capital and equipment in order to care for this population, and continuous collaboration with the executive team, leadership, and staff.

This team is more than deserving of The DAISY Team Award and should be proud of the accomplishments that have been possible with their leadership.     

Team Members honored with this DAISY Team Award:

Madonna Walters, MS, BSN, RN

Denise Garrecht, BSN, RN, CEN

Jessica Bammer, MA

Susan Huehl, RN, CSTR, CAISS

Barb Brown-Seidel, EMT

Jamie Tedrow, BA

Laura Marshall, RHIT